Skip Navigation Website Accessibility

PATTY LYONS: BUILD A BETTER FABRIC - Wednesday, January 11 from 6-8pm CT (via Zoom)



 

You know how to knit, but do you know how to build a perfect fabric? 
You know how to knit, but do you know how to build a perfect fabric? There's always room for improvement! Does your knitting "row out" (purl sts looser than knit sts)? Are you looking for a better way to control gauge? What about alternative ways to tension your slippery or stiff yarn? We'll explore ways to improve your knitting technique by looking at the most important fundamentals, like the job of the left needle tip and the right needle shaft, stitch sizing, and even the correct exit path of your stitch. If you feel like you are always three needles off from a pattern or have inconsistent gauge or are just unhappy with your finished fabric, this is the class for you. 

Class will be held via Zoom from 6-8pm CT (7-9pm ET; 5-7pm MT; 4-6pm PT). Class will not be recorded.

Skill Level - Advanced Beginner +

Class Materials -

  • Worsted weight yarn – light colored, smooth
  • US 8/5mm or US 9/5.5mm needles (straight or circular) or whatever size is recommended on your yarn label. OPTIONAL - to experiment with purl gauge, bring needles 2-3 sizes smaller and larger
  • Class handout (printed – will be sent via email; swatch (see below)

Homework -
CO 24 sts. Work 2" in plain stockinette (NO GARTER EDGE) - enough to get a sense of your knitting style. Do not bind off. You will be working on this swatch in class.


Cancellation Policy - Student cancellations must be made at least one week prior to the class to receive a refund for the class fee. After that date, class fees are not refundable and cannot be transferred to another class. Any yarn or supplies purchased for the class are subject to our regular return policy.


Instructor: Patty Lyons
Instructor Bio: Patty is a nationally recognized knitting teacher and technique expert. Her recently published book, Patty Lyons' Knitting Bag of Tricks, is a new essential for your knitting library.
{{getPrice()}}

{{model.event.first_date}} - {{model.event.last_date}} {{model.event.sections.length}} Sessions {{model.event.sections[0].time}}
{{s.date}} {{s.time}}

Seats available {{model.remainingSeats()}}

{{errorMessage}}

{{waitlist_contact_errorMessage}}

Included Materials


{{c.items[0].title}}

{{c.errorMessage}}

This class cannot be purchased online. Please contact the store for more information.

LOCATION

  • 3 Kittens Needle Arts
  • The Village @ Mendota Heights
  • 750 Main Street, Suite 112-113
    St Paul, MN 55118
  • (651) 457-4969

HOURS

  • Needlepoint Department
  • Tues-Sat: 10am - 3pm
  • Yarn Department
  • Tues/Thurs 10am-7pm
    Wed/Fri/Sat 10am - 3pm